The Brotherhood of Black Heads in Tallinn

The exhibition “Rich and Beautiful: The Brotherhood of Black Heads in Tallinn”, open at the Tallinn City Life Museum (Vene Street 17), explores the history and traditions of the Brotherhood and presents its historical archives and works of art. At the Kiek in de Kök Fortifications Museum, the exhibition “Aut Vincendum, Aut Moriendum – Victory or Death: The Brotherhood of Black Heads in the Defense of Tallinn” introduces visitors to the Brotherhood’s role as defenders of the city and as firefighters. This catalogue brings together both exhibitions dedicated to the Brotherhood of Black Heads organized by the Tallinn City Museum.

Founded in the Middle Ages as an association of unmarried merchant apprentices, the Brotherhood of Black Heads played a significant role in Tallinn’s history and culture for more than half a millennium. These young and wealthy merchants became known for their vibrant festive traditions as well as for being major benefactors of St. Catherine’s Church of the Dominican Monastery. Over the centuries, the Brotherhood made an important contribution to the city’s trade and social life, as well as to its military defense and fire protection. The House of the Black Heads, with its impressive art collection, was one of the most prestigious buildings in the city. The Brotherhood’s activities were interrupted during the first Soviet occupation in 1940 but continued in exile. The modern Brotherhood of Black Heads was registered in Germany in 1961 as the legal successor of the historical Brotherhood and has been active in Tallinn again since the early 2000s.

The catalogue is published in Estonian, German, and English.

Authors of the catalogue texts: Anu Mänd, Ivar Leimus, Urmas Oolup, Toomas Abiline, Pia Ehasalu, Ando Pajus

Editor/Compiler: Pia Ehasalu

Design: Pult OÜ